Skip to content

Castle Henneburg

VR glasses compatible (e.g. Quest 3)

Ruins of castle Henneberg or Henneburg is a very hidden and very small ruin near Deutschfeistritz or Bösebach. Not much has been preserved. This is because this fortification (first mentioned in 1145) was abandoned in 1319. Enough time for the almost complete disappearance. The building era can also be recognized by the type of walls. In contrast to later buildings, walls like this one were built with regular, rectangular stone blocks. Later this elaborate method was abandoned and simply irregularly shaped quarry stones were used.

It is interesting that this Romanesque complex - because it is so early abandoned again - never has been changed. A rather rare example of a small Romanesque castle from the High Middle Ages - the heyday of knights and minstrels and the time of a general upswing. Better-preserved castle complexes were usually redesigned in a Gothic style to suit the subsequent building era expanded. And now and then even further towards the Baroque period, if the complex was still inhabited and used.

What this now more or less disappeared castle might have looked like? A virtual visit to the Waldstein ruins is worthwhile For that.

Loading…

The Tour

Today's ruins consist of little more than a few walls - and so the virtual tour feels more like a walk in the forest. The pictures were taken in June 2024.

Help for the tour

The virtual tour is best experienced in full screen (double click on the image or click on the button at the bottom right), on a large PC monitor with headphones or speakers. Simple reconstructions of the former building structure become visible under the mouse cursor (or when touching the touchscreen). Small details are pointed out using information symbols.
At the top right, an orientation plan and/or a map can be activated, at the right edge the music can be set to mute, a compass can be hidden or shown and switched to English.
If you activate the home button at the top of the screen, you get to the aerial photo/overview and back again.
The tour, like all the others, can be experienced with VR glasses such as a Quest 3. Without additional software – simply enter the URL of this page in the browser of the glasses, activate the VR button that is then visible there – done.

The few remains of the Hennburg 2024. Here is the best-preserved part - the south-facing section of the curtain wall. As a rule, here on this website there is normally the usual older depiction from around 1680 by Georg Matthäus Vischer, who, among other things, depicted all the notable fortifications in Styria. The Henneburg is missing - certainly because it had already been in ruins for a long time and was of no further importance.

https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Henneburg_(Deutschfeistritz)
https://www.burgenseite.com/wp/henneberg/
https://www.burgenseite.com/unknown/henneberg_txt.htm
https://wehrbauten.at/stmk/steiermark.html?/stmk/henneberg/henneberg.html
http://ruine.at/henneberg.htm
https://www.facebook.com/p/Himberg-Henneburg-100064382181813/?_rdr

en_GBEN

Zum Inhalt

Ruine Henneberg (Henneburg)

VR-Brillen-geeignet (z.B. Quest 3)

Ruine Henneberg oder Henneburg ist eine sehr versteckt liegende und sehr kleine Ruine bei Deutschfeistritz bzw. Übelbach. Viel ist nicht erhalten. Was daran liegt, dass diese Wehranlage (erste Erwähnung 1145) bereits 1319 wieder aufgegeben wurde. Genug Zeit für das fast vollständige Verschwinden. Erkennbar ist die Bauepoche auch an der Art der Mauern. Im Gegensatz zu späteren Bauwerken, wurden Mauern wie diese hier mit rechteckig behauenen regelmäßigen Steinquadern hochgezogen. Später verzichtete man auf diese aufwändige Art und verwendete einfach unregelmäßig geformte Bruchsteine.

Interessant ist, dass diese romanische Anlage – weil eben so früh wieder verlassen – nie umgebaut wurde. Ein eher seltenes Beispiel also, für eine romanische kleine Burg aus dem Hochmittelalter – der Blütezeit der Ritter und Minnesänger und die Zeit eines allgemeinen Aufschwunges. Besser erhaltene Burganlagen wurden üblicherweise der nachfolgenden Bauepoche entsprechend gotisch umgestaltet und ausgebaut. Und ab und an noch weiter in Richtung Barockzeit, falls die Anlage noch bewohnt und genutzt wurde.

Wie diese nun mehr oder weniger verschwundene Burg ausgesehen haben mag? Ein virtueller Besuch von Ruine Waldstein lohnt sich dafür.

Loading…

Die Tour

Die heutige Ruine besteht aus kaum mehr als ein paar Mauern – und so fühlt sich die virtuelle Tour eher wie ein Waldspatziergang an. Aufgenommen wurden die Bilder im Juni 2024.

Hilfe für die Tour

Der virtuelle Rundgang ist am besten in Vollbild (Doppelklick ins Bild oder Klick auf Button rechts unten), auf einem großen PC-Monitor mit Kopfhörern oder Lautsprechern erlebbar. Unter dem Mauszeiger (oder bei Berühren des Touchscreens) werden teils einfache Rekonstruktionen der ehemaligen Bausubstanz sichtbar. Auf kleine Details wird über Infosymbole hingewiesen.
Rechts oben kann ein Orientierungsplan und/oder eine Karte aktiviert werden, rechts am Rand die Musik auf stumm gesetzt, ein Kompass aus oder eingeblendet und auf Englisch umgestellt werden .
Aktiviert man den Homebutton am oberen Bildrand, kommt man zum Luftbild/Überblick und wieder retour.
Die Tour ist wie auch alle übrigen mit VR-Brille wie einer Quest 3 erlebbar. Ohne Zusatzsoftware – einfach die URL dieser Seite im Browser der Brille eingeben, den dort dann sichtbaren VR-Button aktivieren – fertig.

Die wenigen Reste der Hennburg 2024. Hier der am besten erhaltene Teil – der nach Süden ausgerichtete Abschnitt der Ringmauer. In der Regel gib es hier auf dieser Website noch die übliche ältere Darstellung um 1680 von Georg Matthäus Vischer, der unter anderem alle nennenswerten Wehranlagen in der Steiermark bildhaft darstellte. Die Henneburg fehlt – sicher deshalb, weil bereits damals schon lange eine Ruine und nicht weiter von Bedeutung.

https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Henneburg_(Deutschfeistritz)
https://www.burgenseite.com/wp/henneberg/
https://www.burgenseite.com/unknown/henneberg_txt.htm
https://wehrbauten.at/stmk/steiermark.html?/stmk/henneberg/henneberg.html
http://ruine.at/henneberg.htm
https://www.facebook.com/p/Himberg-Henneburg-100064382181813/?_rdr

de_ATDE